Skip to Navigation

Our board

Director and Head of Theta Software
Independent Director
Director and Manager, Utilities Centre of Excellence
Independent Director

Our board
Theta is a privately owned company with four main shareholders. The shareholders elect the board. Directors are elected based on the value they bring to the board. Each is experienced in business and provides value by contributing to corporate governance matters, conceptual thinking and strategic planning. The directors play an important part in providing guidance to management to enable them to increase the profitable growth of Theta in the years ahead.

Theta’s board is currently made up of three independent directors, Bob Gray, Terry Allen and chair Susan Paterson, and two executive directors, Matt Owen and Andrew Taylor.

Board history
Matt is one of Theta’s founders and has worked in the company since 1995. The board of directors, initially made up of the 4 shareholders, started meeting on a regular basis from 2000. From September 2003 independent directors, including an independent chairman, were added to the board. Following changes to the company ownership in 2006, the managing director role was replaced by a CEO role, filled by Steve Saunders. Two additional independent directors, Bob and Susan, were appointed in 2008. Following Steve Saunders’ passing in 2010 Susan took the role of chair. Terry Allen was appointed in 2011. Andrew Taylor was appointed to the board in 2013.

What our customers say

  • "Greater reporting capability and flexibility gives us a clearer picture of what’s going on across the hotel chain. Daily emails of automated reports have proved a really useful way of sharing information and our customer reports now look more professional.  Most importantly, quicker and more regular access to business information has helped focus our sales team, which in turn will drive additional room nights and revenue."

    Sue Christie, Reservations Development & Yield Manager

Contact Us

Auckland office
+64 9 356 7227

Wellington office
+64 4 470 7717

enquiries [at] theta [dot] co [dot] nz
online form